Gigs at the Queens Head are every Sunday and occasional Wednesdays

All gigs are free admission and start at 8.30 pm. Programming consists of National and International touring artists as well as providing a platform for many of the high quality, creative players in the region.

Nu-music Special – Wednesday 22nd January

Dead Days Beyond Help

Dead Days Beyond Help kick off a short January tour with an evening at the Queen’s Head in Monmouth. Admission is free, music starts at 8.30 and DDBH will play two sets.

DDBH is the duo of Alex Ward (guitar/vocals) and Jem Doulton (drums). Starting with their 2009 debut album “Access Denied” they have honed a unique compositional style melding delirious intricacy with powerful visceral impact, and their latest album “IV” takes their music to a new level of ambition and sonic range. In their live performances, pieces drawn from all the band’s albums sit side by side with free-wheeling improvisational excursions and the whims of the moment, which could involve a leap into either a wall of flattening noise or the most emotionally direct country song. In negotiating this dizzying range of materials, DDBH bypass the pitfalls of irony and the obstacle course of genre by the simple guiding principle: intensity-at-all-costs.

deaddaysbeyondhelp.bandcamp.com

“Ward’s guitar work leaps between metallic crunch, Fripp-esque tangle and Chadbourne choogle with astounding energy and precision, while Doulton’s drumming swings with commensurate joy and fury” – Joseph Stannard, The Wire.

“Dead Days Beyond Help are just the job after a hard day at the void machine, their precise and frenetic compositions blowing away the debris and cleansing the mind.” – Simon Lewis, Terrascope Online.

Sunday 19th January

Ragtime Jug Orchestra

 

Sunday 26th January

Earl

Sunday 2nd February

Ponchatrain

Jazz Special – Wednesday 12th February

Dave Jones Irish Quartet

Details to follow

Sunday 16th February

Ben Huws

Sunday 23rd February

EIRA/Snow;

Sunday 1st March

Earl and Pearl

Jazz Special – Wednesday 4th March

Tassos Spilliotopolis Swedish Band

Details to follow

Sunday 8th March

Burn the Fiddle

Sunday 15th March

The Harrisons

Experimental Night – Wednesday 18th March

Paul Dunmall/Phil Gibbs Quartet

Details to follow

Sunday 22nd March

SP3

Sunday 29th March

Misfit Pearl and the Oddfellows

Jazz Special – Wednesday 1st April

Get The Blessing

Details to follow

Sunday 5th April

Chris Mayfield

Sunday 12th April

Albino Frogs

Sunday 19th April

HIghway 49

Sunday 10th May

Little Rumba

Sunday 17th May

Bunker

Sunday 24th May

JamesHollingsworth

Sunday 31st May

Mud on the Tyres

Sunday 7th June

Junior Hacksaw

Jazz Special – Wednesday 13th May

Azhaar Saffar

Details to follow

Nu-music Special – Wednesday 27th May

Ward/Lash/Knedel-Anderson

Details to follow

Experimental Night – Wednesday 22nd July

Jak Tar

Details to follow

Nu-music Special – Wednesday 7th Ocotber

Shatner’s Bassoon

Details to follow

Drop Us A Line or Pick Up the Phone

You can contact us by email. Or, alternatively, pick up the phone and give us a call on 01600 712767. Thanks.